Chicken Fajita in a Pita (Salad)

Like most origin stories, this one involved a chance event. I wanted a salad but I wasn’t in the mood for my usual turkey salad. I wanted something with a bit of a kick to it, so I decided to go for a chicken fajita salad. Simple enough.

But then, what was I going to eat with a chicken fajita salad? I needed some type of bread. My immediate thought was a biscuit–I’ll eat biscuits with just about any meat–but biscuits seemed an odd choice for a Mexican dish. So I said, hey, why don’t I just make tortilla strips? That’ll be easy and fast, and I can even use a premade tortilla.

And then it dawned on me. Biscuit got me to tortilla and tortilla got me to . . . pita bread (I’m not really sure how tortilla got me to pita. Clearly, my brain made an odd association there. Just roll with it.) I would take my delicious salad and stuff it inside of a pita pocket. A fajita in a pita. It rhymed. It would be glorious. It would eliminate the need for a fork.

It would have a kick :O.

So I did just that, and the Chicken Fajita in a Pita (Salad) was born.

Pica de Gallo Salsa

Pico de gallo

Ingredients:

  • 2 roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/4 cup purple onions, diced
  • 1/2 cup yellow onions, diced
  • 1/4 cup jalapenos, diced
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/8-1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions:

  1. Combine ingredients in a small bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30-45 minutes.

Fajita Seasoning

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp white pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2-1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 2 tsps corn starch
  • 1/4 tsp white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp chili powder

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside.

Chicken Fajita

Ingredients:

  • Fajita seasoning
  • 3 large chicken breasts, halved
  • 1/4 cup of onions, sliced
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 tbsps olive oil
  • 1/4 each of one red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, and orange bell pepper, sliced (note: this is not 1/4 cup, but 1/4 of the bell peppers)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Wash and clean chicken.
  3. Place chicken in a glass casserole dish. Coat chicken in olive oil.
  4. Rub fajita seasoning into chicken, being sure to coat both sides.
  5. Add all other ingredients and combine/mix using a spatula.
  6. Cover dish with glass top and cook for 15 minutes. Turn chicken and cook for 15 additional minutes or until chicken is tender and juice run clear.

Optional Toppings:

  • 2 tbsps low sodium corn
  • 2 tbsps Black beans
  • a handful of tortilla strips

Putting it all together

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 chicken fajita strips
  • 2-3 tbsps Pico de Gallo
  • low sodium corn, black beans, tortilla strips, or other toppings
  • Pita bread, warmed on low for 5 minutes
  • 1-2 cups of salad mix
  • 1/4 cup of Mexican cheese
  • Taco sauce, optional

Directions:

  1. Combine chicken, pico de gallo, corn, salad mix, cheese, and taco sauce in a small bowl.
  2. Stuff above mixture into pita bread and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

